This site needs to use cookies to function correctly.

Please click the button to accept our cookies. Some may have been set already. Read about our cookies and how to manage them.

Allow Cookies

About Cookies

Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.

They enable this website to remember you, either for the duration of your visit using a Session Cookie or for repeat visits using a Persistent Cookie.

Some features on this site will not function if you do not allow cookies.

Our Cookies

We only use "First party cookies" that are set or read by this website.

We do not use "Third party cookies" where your information is passed to other websites, such as where advertising is targeted to you across the web based upon your browsing habits.

Managing Your Cookies

Most web browsers allow some control of most cookies through the browser settings.

To find out more about cookies, including how to see what cookies have been set and how to manage and delete them, visit www.allaboutcookies.org.


Close Up

Running a cleanup

The System Cleaner permanently removes all items selected in the Cleanup settings. These settings may include your web browsing history, files that show your computer use, and other files that reveal your activity.

To check your cleanup options:

  1. Open the main interface.

  2. Click System Tools, the System Cleaner tab, then the Cleanup Settings link.

    CleanupSettingsLink.png

    The System Cleaner Settings panel opens.

    CleanerSettingsDialog.png

  3. Click each of the categories on the left side of the panel. On the right side, click in the checkboxes to select or deselect items to clean up. Items with a checkmark will be cleaned.

    For more information about the settings, see:
  1. In the System Cleaner Settings panel, select Secure File Removal. By default, file removal is set to "Normal," which means items are deleted permanently (bypassing the Recycle Bin). However, data recovery utilities may be able to restore the files. If you want to make sure files can never be recovered, move the slider to Medium or Maximum. See Using Secure File Removal for more information.

  2. When you're done selecting cleanup settings, click Save All, then click Close.

  3. From the System Cleaner panel, click the Clean Up Now button.

    The progress panel shows items as they are removed, along with the space recovered.