This site needs to use cookies to function correctly.

Please click the button to accept our cookies. Some may have been set already. Read about our cookies and how to manage them.

Allow Cookies

About Cookies

Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.

They enable this website to remember you, either for the duration of your visit using a Session Cookie or for repeat visits using a Persistent Cookie.

Some features on this site will not function if you do not allow cookies.

Our Cookies

We only use "First party cookies" that are set or read by this website.

We do not use "Third party cookies" where your information is passed to other websites, such as where advertising is targeted to you across the web based upon your browsing habits.

Managing Your Cookies

Most web browsers allow some control of most cookies through the browser settings.

To find out more about cookies, including how to see what cookies have been set and how to manage and delete them, visit www.allaboutcookies.org.


Close Up

Changing Windows System settings

The System Cleaner can remove temporary files and traces left by the Windows operating system. These files and traces can sometimes be a threat to your privacy. They can also consume a lot of disk space if you don't delete them once in awhile.

To change Windows System settings:

  1. Open the main interface.

  2. Click System Tools, the System Cleaner tab, then the Cleanup Settings link.

    CleanupSettingsLink.png

    The System Cleaner Settings panel opens.

  3. On the left side of the panel, click Windows System.

    CleanupSettingsWindows.png

  4. On the right side, click in the checkboxes to select or deselect items. Items with a checkmark will be cleaned. When you're done, click the Save All button.

    The settings are described in the table below.

Windows System cleanup options

Clipboard contents

Clears the contents from the Clipboard, where Windows stores data when you use either the Copy or Cut function from any Windows program.

Windows temporary folder

Deletes all files and folders in the Windows temporary folder, but not files that are in use by an open program. This folder is usually: C:\Windows\Temp.

You should not put any files here that you need to keep. The files in this folder can consume a lot of space on your hard drive.

System temporary folder

Deletes all files and folders in the system temporary folder, but not files that are in use by an open program. This folder is usually in C:\Documents and Settings\[user name]\Local Settings\Temp.

You should not put any files here that you need to keep. The files in this folder can consume a lot of space on your hard drive.

Windows Update temporary folder

Deletes all files and subfolders in this folder, but not files that are in use by an open program. Windows uses these files when you run Windows Update. After you install the updates, you no longer need these files. These files are normally in C:\Windows\Software\Distribution\Download. You should not put any files here that you need to keep. The files in this folder can consume a lot of space on your hard drive.

Windows Registry Streams

Clears the history of recent changes you made to the Windows registry. (This option does not delete the registry changes themselves.)

Default logon user history

Deletes the Windows registry entry that stores the last name used to log on to your computer. When the registry entry is deleted, you must enter your user name each time you turn on or restart your computer.

This cleanup option does not affect computers that use the default Welcome screen.

Memory dump files

Deletes the memory dump file (memory.dmp) that Windows creates when you receive certain Windows errors. The file contains information about what happened when the error occurred.

CD burning storage folder

Deletes the Windows project files, created when you use the Windows built-in function to copy files to a CD. These project files are typically stored in one of the following directories: 

C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\CD Burning

C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Burn\Burn

Flash Cookies

Deletes bits of data created by Adobe Flash, which can be a privacy concern because they track user preferences. (Flash cookies are not actually "cookies," and are not controlled through the cookie privacy controls in a browser.)