This site needs to use cookies to function correctly.

Please click the button to accept our cookies. Some may have been set already. Read about our cookies and how to manage them.

Allow Cookies

About Cookies

Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.

They enable this website to remember you, either for the duration of your visit using a Session Cookie or for repeat visits using a Persistent Cookie.

Some features on this site will not function if you do not allow cookies.

Our Cookies

We only use "First party cookies" that are set or read by this website.

We do not use "Third party cookies" where your information is passed to other websites, such as where advertising is targeted to you across the web based upon your browsing habits.

Managing Your Cookies

Most web browsers allow some control of most cookies through the browser settings.

To find out more about cookies, including how to see what cookies have been set and how to manage and delete them, visit www.allaboutcookies.org.


Close Up

Changing Windows Desktop settings

The System Cleaner can remove files in the Recycle Bin and the traces of what files you recently opened or tried to locate in a search. While these history traces can be helpful, they also reveal your activity to other people using your computer. To maintain your privacy, you can remove all these traces.

To change Windows Desktop settings:

  1. Open the main interface.

  2. Click System Tools, the System Cleaner tab, then the Cleanup Settings link.

    CleanupSettingsLink.png

    The System Cleaner Settings panel opens, with Windows Desktop highlighted on the left.

    CleanerSettingsDialog.png

  3. On the right side, click in the checkboxes to select or deselect items. Items with a checkmark will be cleaned. When you're done, click the Save All button.

    The settings are described in the table below.

Windows Desktop cleanup options

Recycle Bin

Removes all files from your Recycle Bin, which contains files you have deleted using Windows Explorer. When you delete a file, it is stored in the Recycle Bin until you empty it. You should periodically empty the Recycle Bin to preserve valuable disk space on your computer.

Recent document history

Clears the history of recently opened files, which is accessible from the Windows Start menu. (The cleanup does not delete the actual files.)

Start Menu click history

Clears the history of shortcuts to programs that you recently opened using the Start menu.

Run history

Clears the history of commands that you recently entered into the Run dialog, which is accessible from the Start menu.

Note: After the cleanup, you may need to restart your computer to completely remove items from the Run dialog.

Search history

Clears the history of files or other information that you searched for on your computer. Your computer stores recent searches and displays them when you start entering a new search that starts with the same characters. You access the search (also called "find") from Windows Explorer or from your Start button. (The cleanup does not delete the actual files.)

Start Menu order history

Reverts the list of programs and documents in the Start menu back to alphabetical order, which is the default setting.

After you run the cleanup, you must reboot your system for the list to revert back to alphabetical order.