This site needs to use cookies to function correctly.

Please click the button to accept our cookies. Some may have been set already. Read about our cookies and how to manage them.

Allow Cookies

About Cookies

Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.

They enable this website to remember you, either for the duration of your visit using a Session Cookie or for repeat visits using a Persistent Cookie.

Some features on this site will not function if you do not allow cookies.

Our Cookies

We only use "First party cookies" that are set or read by this website.

We do not use "Third party cookies" where your information is passed to other websites, such as where advertising is targeted to you across the web based upon your browsing habits.

Managing Your Cookies

Most web browsers allow some control of most cookies through the browser settings.

To find out more about cookies, including how to see what cookies have been set and how to manage and delete them, visit www.allaboutcookies.org.


Close Up

About shields

Shields constantly monitor activity while you surf the Internet and while you work on your computer. The shields protect your computer from malware and viruses, as well as settings for your browser and the Windows system. Webroot has preconfigured the shields for you, based on our recommended settings. You do not need to configure any settings yourself.

To view the shield status, click PC Security and the Shields tab. Each shield setting is displayed in this panel. A green button next to the shield name indicates the shield is on. We recommend that you keep all shields enabled; however, you can disable a shield by clicking the green button.

ShieldPanel.png

Shields run in the background without disrupting your work. If a shield detects an item that it classifies as a potential threat or does not recognize, it opens an alert. The alert asks if you want to allow the item to run or you want to block it. If you recognize the file name and you are purposely downloading it (for example, you were in the process of downloading a new toolbar for your browser), click Allow to continue. If you were not trying to download anything, you should click Block. As you surf Internet sites, you could be targeted for a drive-by download, where an unwanted program launches and silently installs on your computer as you view pages.

If you would like to change the shielding actions, see the following topics: