Please click the button to accept our cookies. Some may have been set already. Read about our cookies and how to manage them.Allow Cookies
With Backup & Sync, you can rest assured that your important files and photos are automatically copied to the cloud (an online repository of secure servers where your data is encrypted and stored). If your computer or mobile device is lost or stolen, you can instantly retrieve your data from any device with an Internet connection. You can also start editing a file on one device, then continue editing it on another.
There are several methods of securing your data:
Synchronizing files and folders.
First, locate the folders on your computer where you store important
files and designate them as sync folders. When you save files to those
sync folders, Backup & Sync immediately uploads them to the cloud
(the Webroot servers) and to any shared folders on other computers.
You can also access these synchronized files from your online SecureAnywhere
account and from your mobile devices with the Webroot SecureSync app
installed. (The SecureSync app is only available with the Complete
Backup & Sync constantly monitors the sync folders. If it detects a change (an edited file, a new file, or a deleted file), it immediately makes the same change to your online account and to shared folders on other computers. If you are working offline, Backup & Sync automatically picks up changes the next time you connect to the Internet.
If Backup & Sync detects an edited file, it does not overwrite the original version stored in the cloud. Instead, it uploads the latest version and makes a copy of the original file. If necessary, you can revert back to previous versions (up to five) from your online account. If you save changes a sixth time, your most recent version is saved and the oldest version is removed.
For instructions, see Downloading the Backup & Sync component and Configuring synchronized folders.
Storing files in the Magic
Briefcase. If you don't want to configure your own sync folders,
you can use the preconfigured folder called the Magic Briefcase. Any
files you place in the Magic Briefcase are automatically synchronized
in the cloud and to any other computers with SecureAnywhere installed.
The Magic Briefcase is ideal for remotely accessing a small number of files. Do not place a large number of files there if you are concerned about conserving space on your computers.
For instructions, see Using the Magic Briefcase.
Copying files to the Web Archive.
If you have important documents or photos that you want backed up,
but not synchronized, you should upload them to the Web Archive. For
example, you may want to back up tax returns, old photos, and a scanned
copy of your passport. These types of documents won't change and don't
need to be kept in synchronization with other computers.
The Web Archive folder does not reside on your home computer and you cannot view it from Windows Explorer. The contents of the Web Archive physically reside in the cloud (on the Webroot servers). You can only access them from your online SecureAnywhere account.
For instructions, see Copying files to the Web Archive.
Note: This section provides a quick overview of Backup & Sync. For further instructions, see the Backups User Guide at Webroot's SecureAnywhere Help and Product Guides page.